Mend

So what now? 
What happens now,
Now that the darkness,
That you let take root inside,
Starts dripping out?
What happens now,
When you can't let,
The one you love the most,
Look at you,
Fearing that her light,
Will only reveal,
The murk of the abyss,
A part of you flails about.

How do you mend this?
It's either been make,
Or break everything,
That is falling apart.

How do you sew this together?
This, this pit in your stomach,
This hole that is gaping,
Showing her everything,
That you'd rather not.
Who gives you the needle,
The thread?
To pull the seams closer,
Stamp the darkness out,
That rears its ugly head.

Mend is a word that,  
I need to learn.
Mend is an act that,
I haven't done.
Crash and burn,
Turn and run,
That's all I do not want to do.

I want to stand upright,
And look her in the eyes,
When I tell her that I love her.
And when she looks at me,
I do not want her to seek out,
Traces of what has lurked,
Long enough in my bones.

Mend, mend, mend,
Mend is what I have to do,
Mend my bones,
Mend our hearts,
Mend the tears,
Mend.

Leave a comment