Tick – Crash

The clock on the wall is too loud.

The ticking fills my ears. It grows louder but never reaches a crescendo. So it keeps crashing away, and all I want is to bury my head in the wall.

Cars rush through the night outside. And I want my heart to slow down from the hundred and fifty bpm marathon it’s on. For the past hour? minute?

The clock never fails. But I never can keep up with the wasted seconds.

I curl up tighter, a cold ball. Frozen feet.

Crushed screams in my clamped mouth.

And it is deathly quite inside.

And it’s only the clock. It never stops as it counts away my time.

I try, I do. To climb out of this, whole. But the more I thrash, the deeper I dig myself in.

I have so much love to give. I have so much that I want to give. But who wants more than they need, when they’re already filled to the brim in their little lives? And I despair for what I could do, for what I could give. So much to love. So much for love.

Like Poe’s tale of the tell-tale heart, the clock on my wall is always too loud.

Leave a comment